Skip to content
April 2, 2012 / amivglobus

Blackbird

For just a second there ‘Blackbird’ looked like ‘Blackboard’ to me and that made me think of Blackboard Jungle, a 1955 movie in which Glenn Ford plays an inexperienced teacher in an inner city school. And I wasn’t going to mention it, but then I realized that the film deals in part with racial tensions and the song ‘Blackbird’ was written about the civil rights movement of the 1960s. So maybe some part of my brain was making that connection?

But I didn’t set out to write about that movie today. {And here let me just say, this song… OMG I ❤ this song! A musician friend of mine once described this as a minor masterpiece to which I would agree except for the minor part.} And just when I thought we as a country if not the whole human race had made some progress I heard some news that just broke my heart.

I have not read The Hunger Games nor have I seen the movie, but I was struck dumb last week when I heard that people were complaining the movie was ruined for them by the selection of black actors to play certain parts in the film. To make it worse {and worse probably isn’t the word I’m looking for} at least one of those characters was apparently described in the book as being dark-skinned. And even when a character is not explicitly described, how shallow do you have to be for such a choice to ruin a movie for you?

I tell you, it shook my faith in humanity. Stupid people!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Huff / Apr 2 2012 6:35 am

    “Stupid people” indeed. We’ve come far but not far enough. We still have a long way to go.

  2. gay clodgo / Apr 2 2012 4:02 pm

    Good luck with the A to Z challenge! I haven’t seen Hunger Games yet either, but those complaints don’t sound right!

  3. Damyanti / Apr 2 2012 9:43 pm

    All the best with the AZ! Look forward to your challenge posts…
    –Damyanti, Co-host A to Z Challenge April 2012

    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

  4. Tarkabarka / Apr 2 2012 9:45 pm

    I specifically liked that Cinna was a black guy. I did not imagine him like that when I read the books, but I think that actor was an excellent choice. And Rue was nothing less than beautiful. Stupid people can go sh*t hedgehogs.
    Have fun with A to Z! 🙂

  5. alisonamazed / Apr 3 2012 4:08 pm

    Good luck with the challenge. Did not know Blackbird was written about the civil rights movement! Need to listen better I guess. I always thought it was about – well blackbirds – who do sing in the dead of night!

  6. e.a.s. demers / Apr 5 2012 12:55 am

    Truly, one of my all-time favorite Beatles songs….

Leave a Reply

