Skip to content
January 10, 2012 / amivglobus

My Baby doesn’t Sparkle

She wants to be a vampire
she says, but to me she looks
cartoonish, a faded photograph
reduced to black and white

She is an innocent still
in my eyes at least
armored ineffectively
with cheap lace and makeup

How long has it been
since I held her close
in my arms and kissed
the top of her head?

Boys smell the blood and are
drawn to bare their throats
waiting to be sucked
by her willing lips

Now she stands alone
surrounded by young men
wooden stakes in hand
wanting to impale her

She is, will always be, my baby
and in my eyes she shines
my baby doesn’t sparkle
but, oh, how she shines

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Laurie Kolp / Jan 10 2012 6:50 pm

    It’s hard to watch them grow up sometimes. I have a daughter, too, and she’ll always be my baby. Love the metaphor with vampires.

  2. Pat Hatt / Jan 10 2012 7:04 pm

    A vampire is scary, plus they have that whole daylight thing..haha…fun write.

  3. ayala / Jan 10 2012 8:18 pm

    So hard to let them go…to watch them grow…nicely penned!

  4. the word bar / Jan 10 2012 9:02 pm

    My last one is due to leave the nest…i hope I am prepared for that..
    i felt this..nicely expressed.
    lynne

  5. Victoria C. Slotto / Jan 10 2012 9:30 pm

    There is so much pain in letting go and praying that whatever mistakes they make, they will emerge successful.

  6. brian / Jan 10 2012 10:58 pm

    ugh…i am so glad i have boys…and do not envy you this time of life…

  7. claudia / Jan 11 2012 12:27 am

    oh they grow up and sometimes the only thing we can do is watch…and pray..

  8. 1emeraldcity / Jan 11 2012 12:32 am

    I don’t have children, but I am human, can understand the letting go of young ‘uns… a little scary watch the male vampires with wooden stakes in hand…Nice poem!

  9. Sheila Moore / Jan 11 2012 12:51 pm

    this make me want to cry, having two young daughters of my own. I will hug them tightly as long as they let me. Beautiful mother’s verse here.

  10. charlesmashburn / Jan 11 2012 3:01 pm

    The pain and love in this are so palpable. I never had a daughter, but still, I can imagine how you must feel. Beautiful poem.

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/the-sun-came-up-again-4/

  11. ihatepoetry / Jan 11 2012 7:02 pm

    Excellent metaphors and as the father of a 15 y.o. daughter into Twilight, this was perfect. Going to find her now and give her a hug, Many thanks!

  12. my rays of light / Jan 15 2012 12:41 am

    I loved the metaphor…my daughter loves Twilight also…perfect!!

    She is going to college in the spring…I understand what you mean. I just pray that I have given her all the tools she will need…but either way…my love is ever flowing.

    Thanks for sharing

    Peace to you

  13. amivglobus / Jan 16 2012 4:25 pm

    Thank you all for your comments. You mean more to me than I can say.

Leave a Reply

