Skip to content
July 18, 2011 / amivglobus

Pretty Unpretty

Back in April, for National Poetry Month, I posted the Pretty poetry slam by Katie Makkai. I swear I could listen that every day {and maybe I should}. Just a few weeks ago I wrote about being cheered up when a comedy group used one of my favorite sad songs in their act.

This battle of feeling pretty enough, or good enough in other ways, is constant. Last week I got disappointed by the ratings on some of my work. {To be fair, it was rated average one place and just below average on another, and while those are probably accurate one always hopes for better.} And then I got unwanted attention from a former lover. And all my insecurities gathered ’round to keep me company.

But this too shall pass. Eventually.

I Feel Pretty/Unpretty from glorifiedgleek on Vimeo.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. John Wiswell / Jul 23 2011 11:22 am

    Insecurities peck at us sometimes. Sorry about the under-average rating, but I trust you can improve. Persistence really is greater than any other trait.

Leave a Reply

