Skip to content
June 12, 2011 / amivglobus

Pretty Awesome

So I was feeling a little sorry for myself, writing a post about being dumped and listening to one of my favorite sad songs, Pretty Enough by Kasey Chambers. Embedding is disabled in YouTube, but it’s definitely worth the click to give it a listen. Go on, I’ll wait.

Like I said, I was writing this feeling-sorry-for-myself post and wanted to link to that song. While listening to it I scrolled through some of the comments and saw references to Axis of Awesome. So I did a quick search {I still resist using the name of a search site as a verb. After all, I never Yahoo!ed anything. But that’s a rant for another day.} Turns out, The Axis of Awesome is an Australian comedy band. They are well-known for their Four Chord Song {embedded below} which is a medley of several popular songs that all use a common progression of four chords. Chambers’ Pretty Enough is one of the songs.

And a pretty awesome thing happened while I was listening to the Four Chord Song. I laughed. And I’m not feeling quite so sorry for myself now. And {it’s too soon for me to test this theory yet} I’m not sure I’ll ever hear Pretty Enough the same way again. Oh, it’s still an awesome song and I’ll always love it, but now I have a happy memory attached to it too. Instead of just tears.

Leave a Reply

