Skip to content
April 3, 2011 / amivglobus

As if it Were a Cabbage She Might Buy

April is National Poetry Month. Today, rather than subject you to some of my drivel, I’m sharing some real life, honest to goodness, life-changing poetry. {The month is still young. I’m going to post some stuff later.}

I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve watched this. It always grabs me and slaps me around a little bit {in a good way — like in a movie when they’re reviving someone who passed out}. And I want to jump up and shout, “Yes! OmygodhtatsitexactlyamensistereveryoneareyoufuckingLISTENINGtothis!” and then someone does slap me and calms me back down. Sort of.

I’ll never have a daughter and my mother is not the type to have ever said things like this to me. {To be fair, she was a much better mother than the one in this piece, so she didn’t really need to.} But I don’t think any of us fully escape unrealistic expectations from society or from ourselves. I hope you enjoy this. {And, in a way, I really hope you don’t.}

Leave a Reply

