Skip to content
March 17, 2011 / amivglobus

No Ding Bat

So, my sister is doing better. It’s still a long journey and today I’d rather think about something else. Anything else. Like maybe this:

I don’t remember where I ran across this recently. It’s an old PSA from the US Department of Labor featuring Bat Girl and the Dynamic Duo. In many ways we’ve progressed a lot in the last 40+ years. I can’t imagine a similar PSA today. But are we equal in the workplace? I think not quite yet.

I’m not even going to rant on the fact that Bat Girl did not work for Bat Man. Take it for what it was, an attempt to use pop culture to advance a civil rights issue. How I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall when this idea was kicked around in what I assume {does this make me sexist?} was probably a room full of old white guys.

I love Bat Girl. And I haven’t loved her nearly as much as when I saw these Kick-ass Batgirl Illustrations. These are all just GREAT. You really must go look at them now. And grab a towel. You’re going to be drooling. Girl Power!

Leave a Reply

