Skip to content
April 12, 2012 / amivglobus

Klaatu

One of the problems I faced when I decided to base my A to Z challenge theme on the titles of Beatles songs is that there are some letters that aren’t the initial letters of any Beatles songs. {Technically, there are K Beatles songs; they recorded a German version of I Want to Hold Your Hand that translated to Komm Gib Mir Deine Hand and a couple songs written by others. Just go with it.} But this gives me the chance to rant about the media.

Here’s what I remember about Klaatu. They were named after the extraterrestrial character in the movie The Day the Earth Stood Still and there was a rumor that they were really The Beatles. I feel a little sorry for them that I don’t remember anything about their music because the rumor was not started by them nor encouraged by them. It was started by some ill-informed reviewer who thought they sounded Beatlesque and didn’t find much biographical info about the band on their first album. The record label, Capitol Records, milked it by releasing ambiguous statements. Other newspapers and radio stations ran with it.

It wasn’t until I was looking for a song to include with this post that I came across their version of Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft. I remember The Carpenters had a hit with it, but I honestly don’t remember the Klaatu version at all. I also think it was described as the first song that treated extraterrestrial life seriously as opposed to things like Purple People Eater.

But to finish my rant, just because something is in print {or repeated ad nauseum} doesn’t make it true.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. alisonamazed / Apr 13 2012 2:52 am

    You are absolutely bang on when you say just because something is in print or oft repeated doesn’t make it true. Even more so today with the Internet when any idiot with an axe to grind for whatever immature reason may do so. It’s much easier for the maligner to push publish than it is for the maligned to get it taken down! I do hear some of Paul’s voice in this singer but how easy is it to change a person’s voice with modern technology ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

