Skip to content
April 1, 2012 / amivglobus

A Hard Day’s Night

I’ve been absent from these pages for nearly three months. {Hee-hee, I misspelled ‘months’ as ‘moonths’ and I was SOOO tempted to leave it that way. It looked kinda cute. And isn’t ‘month’ derived from the cycle of the moon anyway? I should probably look that up….} Anyway, wanna know what’s been happening? Life! Real-world, 3-D, flesh and blood life. And darn if it doesn’t get in the way of blogging sometimes!

So I thought about trying to write and post a poem a day in April because it’s National Poetry Month, but do I really want to add the pressure of writing poetry every day on top of everything else? Even though, as I frequently and freely admit, I write bad poetry? {Short answer: no, I don’t.} And at this point if I write and post anything on a regular basis it will be a freakin’ miracle!

And then I heard about this A to Z Challenge. Well, that’s not really accurate, I’ve seen it on other blogs in recent years but I was reminded about it recently. The top two suggestions they make are 1) Keep It Simple, Short and 2) Get a Theme. I considered a poetry theme because, well, I had just decided not to write poetry every day so of course my brain said, “Really? You sure you don’t want to keep the poetry idea?” To which I answered, “No, brain… I mean yes, I’m sure I’m not going to write a poem every day. Now shut up and stop confusing me!” Stupid brain!

So even though it’s way too late to make this long story short, I decided to use the titles of Beatles songs as the titles of my posts. {Even though I just checked and there are some letters that are not the first letter of any Beatles songs, but I have an idea on how to cheat my way around that. Assuming I make it that far.} So consider this my opening chord. Let’s beat this challenge until it cries. {Oh, wait, that sounds cruel and barbaric and abusive.} Let’s love this challenge until it sings!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Baby Is Boss / Apr 1 2012 7:00 am

    I love the Beatles theme. I discovered you blog through the A to Z Challenge.

  2. timsbrannan / Apr 1 2012 10:54 am

    Awesome! I LOVE the Beatles. Looking forward to seeing what you do!

    Tim
    The Other Side
    The Freedom of Nonbelief

  3. Alana Garrigues / Apr 1 2012 5:02 pm

    You can totally do it! I think that once you have a theme the rest falls into place! Good luck with the challenge.

    Alana @ writercize.blogspot.com
    Found you through A to Z!

  4. Lloralye / Apr 2 2012 2:17 am

    Cute theme and welcome back to blogging after all these ‘moonths’! haha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

